Interview with Mark Tyson

It’s Mark Tyson on my blog this time. He is the author of The Sacred Land Legacy and The Wielder Cycle. Now, onto the interview!–

1) Since when have you been writing fiction? Was it since you were a kid?

Mark E Tyson

Hi, A. J! Thank you for inviting me to your blog! … Yes, I used to write fiction for my classmates. Sometimes instead of doing my schoolwork. I have written fiction almost since I learned how to put words together.

2) Why did you choose to write in the fantasy genre?

Mark E Tyson

It’s the genre I read mostly as a kid. I love all of the possibilities the fantasy genre allows! The only limits are the limits of the imagination.

3) What was the first book you published?

Mark E Tyson

I published a really terrible version of Wielder: Apprentice. The version I have published now has been re-written to my current standards front to back. The old version still shows up occasionally but is no longer available for sale.

4) Who is the main character in your books?

Mark E Tyson

In the Sacred Land Legacy Series it is Dorenn Adair and Lady Shey Namear to a lesser degree. In the Wielder Cycle series the Main Character is Sheyna (later known as Lady Shey) The Wielder Cycle is the story of Lady Shey growing up to become the person to lead Dorenn through his trials in the Sacred Land Legacy.

5) Do you plot your stories before you write or plot as you write? Any advantages/disadvantages of you preferred method?

Mark E Tyson

I do a basic outline of all the books in the series. I devote a paragraph to each chapter. Of course, nothing is set in stone and I sometimes move around chapters, add more chapters, or amend the paragraphs to include other plot ideas. I do not like to plot as I write because in epic fantasy where you have multiple books you can write yourself into a corner pretty fast that way. An advantage to outlining is that I can write the book much faster because i already know what’s going to happen and when. It would take me forever to get a book written if I tried to write and plot as i go.

6) Since you self-publish, how do you get the books edited and get the covers done?

Mark E Tyson

I use a professional editing service. My editor is always Courtney Umphress, http://www.courtneyumphress.com She has an amazing eye for detail and we work really well together. I use different sources for covers. I used an artist, Joe Calkins, for some of my covers. I try to find inventive ways of coming up with inventive covers such as searching photo stock sites and different font sights. If I can make the cover myself without it being cheesy, I will.

Editing is a must if authors want their books to be a success. I work with indie authors to help make their books the best they can be.

courtneyumphress.com

7) How do you advertise your books? Which is your best advertising method?

Mark E Tyson

I use a variety of promo sites that advertise fantasy works. Of course, I have a blog and I also use twitter and to a greater degree Facebook advertising. I occasionally give away books too. I would say Facebook is the best method for traffic and promo sites are best for sales. Giving away free books also helps to draw attention to my series.

9) How many books have you sold till date?

Mark E Tyson

About 10000 so far. I have given away about 7000 books.

10) When is your next book coming?  Can you provide the summary of the book?

Mark E Tyson

I am hoping to have it written by the end of August, first of September. It is the conclusion to the Sacred Land Legacy. There is a lot of story left so it may spill over into a book 5 but I will try my best to get it done. As far as a summary, let’s just say there are still plenty of surprises coming!

So we have come to the end of the interview now. Would you like to add anything else?

Mark E Tyson

I just want to add that I’m only getting started! I have several more series outlined and I am looking forward to developing them. I already have the cover proofs for the next, unrelated to the Sacred Land, series ready. Dawn of the Sacred Land and Wielder: Apprentice are both being produced as audiobooks as we speak by insanely talented voice actors. The future is bright. Thanks for the interview, A. J!

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

