Interview with C. J. Rutherford

1
Today we have C. J. Rutherford on the blog. He is the author of the Tales of the Neverwar series. You can visit his website at http://talesoftheneverwar.com

 

DO SHARE THIS INTERVIEW ON FACEBOOK TWITTER

Give us a little background info.

I’m a writer from Northern Ireland. I have two daughters who I’ve read a different bedtime story to each night for years. The thing is, they grew up, and didn’t want stories anymore, so I had to do something, right?

When did you first start writing? Anybody in your family/friends who supported you?

To be honest, my family doesn’t get it. I spend a few hours a day writing, time permitting. I have a full time job as well, so it’s pretty hard. I’m actually jealous when I read about authors who’s family’s have supported them.

When did you decide to go the indie way? Did you try to get trad published before that?

Nope. Indie all the way. I want to keep control of my stories, and the direction the tale is taking.

Anything great that happened in your life recently?

Yes! I got a Reader’s Favorite 5 star award last month for Souls of the Never.

Your covers are pretty cool. Who makes them?

Mostly they are me. I mean, all the ideas are mine, but I’ve a couple of friends with more expertise who help with tweaking them. This is the thing about indies. It’s all about networking. It’s taken me a few years, but now I have a solid group of friends with expertise in various fields.

You’ve got countless great reviews on Amazon. Any tips for new authors to improve their craft?

Like I say above, make friends. DO NOT simply put a book up on Amazon and spam the hell out of it. It doesn’t work. How do I know? Because I did it. Yes…I was a spammer. Then I met a few people who gave me the same advice I’m giving you.

How do you create great characters? What about the villians?

LOVE your villains. They will sell your books. My two mains are based on my daughter and her best friend. The sleazeball is based on my ex boss. Take your life and write it!

 
Do you have a day job? If you do, do you love it or hate it?

Yup. I’ve worked in IT for 20 years. Do I hate it? Meh. Do I love it? No!!

Any hobbies outside of writing?

Umm….helping other authors. I get a real buzz doing this. I’m a firm believer of paying it forward.

What has been your most successful marketing strategy?

Making friends and letting them help me market my own books.

Who are your favourite indie authors?

Patricia Rose is awesome, but she’s one among such a great community. There’s Heather Osborne, Zeece Lugo, Mark Tilbury, but they are the tip of the iceberg. Indie authors have written the BEST stories I’ve read in years. Yeah ok, the big names have huge covers and budgets, but for quality? Indie is best.

DO SHARE THIS INTERVIEW ON FACEBOOK TWITTER


 A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India writing mostly in the fantasy genre. His historical low fantasy short “A Song of Blood” releases shortly. Click here to download his fantasy novella “The Drabird” for free.

pic

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with C. J. Rutherford

  1. Pingback: Review of ‘Origins of the Never’ by C. J. Rutherford | A J Chaudhury's Blog

Leave a Reply

