Interview with Brian Wilkerson

pic

Today we have author Brian Wilkerson on the blog. He is the author of the Journey to Chaos series. You can visit his website at http://trickstereric.blogspot.in/?m=1

 

Tell us about yourself

I grew up playing Final Fantasy and watching Power Rangers. Then the programming block “ToonamI” exposed me to Anime. This inspired me to write my first fanfic, which ultimately led to writing original fiction. I’ve been practicing Tae Known Do for twenty three years and recently I’ve started learning t’ai chi ch’uan. I also have bachelor degrees in English Literature and World History with a focus on the Classical Near East and Mediterranean.

Tell us about the ‘Journey to Chaos’ series. Describe the setting of the series.

The Journey to Chaos series takes place in the world of Tariatla. It is a modern world with magic interwoven into every aspect of society. For instance, the “doctors” use a branch of magic to treat their patients and appliances run on a supernatural energy source known as “mana” instead of electricity. The society is also shaped by the presence of monsters. These savage creatures can be found in every corner of the globe so most people live behind walls. My protagonist, Eric Watley, is a mercenary mage. He uses magic to fight monsters and accomplish other tasks that he and his team are hired for.

What is your latest release? What are you currently working on?

My most recent release is the third book in the Journey to Chaos Series: Mana Mutation Menace. Its central conflict is the nations of the world attempting to resolve the problem of Mana Mutation, the phenomenon that creates monsters. I’m currently working on Journey to Chaos book 4. It’s tentative title is Clerics at War. Here a death god is trying to kill my protagonist and a chaos priestess defends him.

How do you create your books for publication?

Each book has five drafts minimum, beta reading by at least three people, then proof reading and editing by someone else. Then I upload it to Amazon through Kindle Direct Publishing.

How do you market your books after publication?

I use social media as my promotional tool. I’m most active on Twitter and Facebook with some stuff on G+ too. The Independent Author Network and Clean Indie Reads are useful for this purpose. I also create pages for my books on Tvtropes. An author can reach a lot of readers that way without paying a cent.

Did you begin writing as a child or as an adult? What drew you to fantasy?

As a child, I thought through fanfiction about my favorite shows and books. One day I just decided to make the switch to original fiction. I write fantasy because it is fun. It can do all that realistic fiction can do but doesn’t have the same limitations.

Do you have a mailing list? How often do you mail your subscribers?

No, I don’t have a mailing list. I don’t care to receive email from others authors, even ones that I like and whose new releases I look forward to. I don’t see the point other than to announce new releases once a year or so, and I’ve heard there are legal hurdles when it comes to mass emailing; anti-spam stuff. Besides, I get enough information through social media.

Who is your favorite character in your own books? Can you describe them?

I like writing scenes for Tasio the Trickster. He is a chaotic deity and a delightful contradiction. He can be both sinister and benevolent; silly and serious. He advocates and encourages the use of free will while also manipulating to reach his own objectives. His role is Trickster Mentor and in this story he is mentoring Eric Watley. A saying that encapsulates this idea goes, “Those who live in The Trickster’s favor are both blessed and cursed, for their lives are both long and interesting.”

Do you set a daily writing goal?

I try to write every day; even if it is just a little bit. The ideal goal is at least two hours but two minutes is good too. Progressive is progress.

Anything you would like to add?

Advice for writers of all genres (including the literary genre): you are not original. No, you’re not. Go to Tvtropes and read The Tropeless Tale. If you are not convinced, read The Zeroth Law of Trope Examples. You cannot, and never will be, one hundred percent original. That’s ok. As another author once told me, an author’s job is not to be original but compelling. Originality will not make you compelling and a lack of it will not necessarily make you boring.


 A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India writing mostly in the fantasy genre. His historical low fantasy short “A Song of Blood” releases shortly. Click here to download his fantasy novella “The Drabird” for free.

pic

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

