Interview with Aduro Tri

pic

It’s author Aduro Tri on my blog today. He is the author of Within Shadows. You can visit his website https://adurotri.wordpress.com/

 

 

Tell us about yourself a bit. Where are you from?
It’s author Aduro Tri on my blog today. He is the author of Within Shadows. You can visit his website https://adurotri.wordpress.com/

I’m from Mountain Home, Idaho right now. (As it’s where I live presently). There’s not a whole lot about me though, I’m rather uninteresting as a person. Writing is about the only interesting thing I have in my life.

Is that a horse on the cover of your book? Tell us about your book.

Yes, it is a horse. And the reason for why, is because it’s the face of the main character. The book is a relatively simple one as it takes place in a world different than our own. The main character is named Elvera and she’s a General of the Kingdom, Edithien. She serves under her half-sister and she’s very dedicated to the job. She’ll quite literally do anything to protect her people. If you want more, you’ll actually have to read the book as I’d rather not give too much away. But fans of supernatural works should enjoy it.

Who made the cover of your novel? Do you use an artist?

. Cheyanne Flickinger, or Skitty22 on Deviantart. And yes, for this particular title I did pay an artist. She’s a good friend of mine and rather talented.

Tell us about your writing process.

My writing process is very complicated and difficult to explain, I don’t know if I could explain it completely in a few short sentences, but I’ll give it a shot. I employ a number of different techniques that I’ve coined the names on. One in particular is the “To Hell With It” method, where I just basically start writing once I find a good beginning of a piece and see where it goes. Basically, I let the story write itself with me as the pen. Afterward, I build an outline to ensure that I can redraft what I wrote or continue what I was writing should I take an extended break from it. Helps stay focused.

What about your publishing process? Do you use beta readers and editors?

My publishing process? I just have a couple friends beta read my book and I mostly self-edit as my funding is relatively limited right now, so I can’t really invest in any professional editors. So I rely very heavily on what I’ve got. May not be the best strategy, but because of my position and the fact I’m a perfectionist as I write anyhow. I’m generally pretty good at limiting the number of grammar errors throughout my works. The only problem I have is with repeating myself and content problems on occasion as I tend to write the weirdest shit with the weirdest motivations at first.

What are you working on currently? Will it be a sequel to your first book?

It won’t exactly be a sequel, but I am working on a number of other projects right now. One of which will become an actual series. As of right now, Within Shadows is a single standing novel, yet, it’s in an ever expanding world I created, so it’s likely there will be an indirect sequel to it not involving the same characters. As for my present project….well, right now, all I can say is, it’s a story focused on exploration and the loss of innocence. With the story I intend on exploring the far reaches of the world I created in a possible seven part series.

When did you first start writing? Anyone in your family or friend circle who motivated you early on?

Around the age of 14-15, though I believe what really got me into writing was a dream I had and the first character I ever created. Had I not created THAT character, I wouldn’t be who I am today, nor would I have gotten into writing. And mostly, what keeps me motivated and what motivated me early on, was my friends and the sheer thrill of writing.

Any incidence in your life that has had a big impact in making you the person you are?

There are a number of things that have shaped me into the person I am today. But I am not going to talk about them too much as they are very personal. Plus, I’d rather not dwell on the past as I’ve already learned most of what I could from it.

Which are your favorite books and authors?

Favorite books: Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, The Hobbit, The Silmarillion. In case you didn’t notice, I’m also a huge fan of J.R.R. Tolkien and J.K. Rowling. To the point where I’m a gigantic nerd for them. There’s more I could say I’m a fan of, but those ones aren’t really books.

Any writing resource you found online that greatly helped you early on?

Two resources I’ve found online, FocusWriter (Program/App) and SelfControl. FocusWriter is a full screen writing program that you can link to Microsoft Word, OpenOffice or whatever writing program you use. It helps tune out distractions. SelfControl is a program that can temporarily block websites on its list. Preventing access to the distracting/offending websites for as long as you set the timer. Though only within a 24 hour time period.

Do you have other hobbies besides writing?

My only hobbies, if you can call one of them a hobby, includes. Gaming (Video games) and Meditation. Not much else. I lead a pretty boring life.

Anything you would like to add?

All I can really say or add is that, to all writers or artists reading the blog that this is on. Hell, to anyone who is reading it. Never give up on any of your dreams or goals. Be realistic, but at least keep these goals in your heart, because they will help drive you forward. Also, don’t be a butt either. Treat everyone in the world with respect and kindness. Even if they’re horrible to you. Because…it’ll freak them out when you suddenly start laughing with a crazy look on your face. And the final thing I can offer to any younger reader of this…(In your teens or younger.) Don’t let anyone tell you whom you are. You know who you are and they…well, they can honestly just go to hell if they don’t like it. Simply be yourself. Don’t try to be what society wants you to be. Even if it gets you ridicule. BE WEIRD! Embrace your inner weirdo. (As long as it doesn’t hurt anyone.)


 A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India writing mostly in the fantasy genre. His historical low fantasy short “A Song of Blood” releases shortly. Click here to download his fantasy novella “The Drabird” for free.

pic

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

