Interview with Thomas K. Carpenter

pic

It’s author Thomas K. Carpenter on my blog today. He is the author of The Alexandrian Saga, The Dashkova Memoirs and Gamer’s Series. You can visit his website at http://thomaskcarpenter.com/

 

1) Tell us about yourself.

I’m a storytelling addict with a day job. I also enjoy naps.

2) Tell us about ‘The Alexandrian Saga’, ‘The Dashkova Memoirs’ and ‘Gamers’series.

Yikes! That’s a lot of ‘splaining. The Saga is a what-if telling history in ancient Alexandria addressing the mysteries of that time. The Dashkova Memoirs is my version of Supernatural with Ben Franklin and Princess Dashkova, and the Gamers trilogy is about the gamification of everyday life.

3) You are a prolific writer. What is your writing speed? Any tips for writing fast

I don’t write fast. What I do is keep my butt in the chair for long hours. The key is to make a habit of sitting down to write, even if you don’t write much. In 2007 I wrote 90k words and last year in 2015 I wrote 325k. The difference between the two was the amount of time I spent in the chair.

4) How do you prepare your books for publication? Who are your cover designer and editor?

I use a team of professionals to bring my book to market. My main cover designer is the amazing Ravven. Her covers are swoon-worthy, and the envy of other writers. And Tamara Blain is my editor and copy-editor all-in-one. She’s really spectacular at her job. I’m lucky to have her.

5) How do you get you very first sales and reviews?

I have a mailing list and an advanced reader team that give me a good burst out of the gate. I owe a lot to them.

6) What has been your best marketing technique?

Bookbub. I’m lucky enough to keep getting promotions through them.

7) Who is your favourite character in your books. Describe them.

Typically that’s whoever I’m writing now. Currently, that would be Aurelia “Aurie” Silverthorn, an Iranian-American twenty-year old wizard who’s trying to survive her first year of university at the Hundred Halls. She’s made a lot of mistakes in her life but keeps on trying.

8) What was the first story you ever wrote? When did you write it?

The first I remember is around nine- or ten-years old. It involved a car that slowly disintegrated as it sped down a hill and turned into a wall of bricks. If you wonder why I’m a speculative writer, well, there you go. The seeds of imagination were planted deep in this one.

9) Which authors have had the most influence on you?

George RR Martin. Stephen King. Ken Liu. Lin-Manuel Miranda.

10) Where do you see indie publishing headed in the next five years?

Still thriving, but with new twists.

11) What would be you advice to a new author self publishing today?

Keep your butt in the chair. Be resilient. Stay professional. Learn from your mistakes.

12) Anything you would like to add?

See the musical Hamilton. Or listen to the album. No, really. It’s that good. You’ll feel stupid for not listening earlier.

 

 


A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India writing mostly in the fantasy genre. His historical low fantasy short “A Song of Blood” releases shortly. Click here to download his fantasy novella “The Drabird” for free.

pic

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

