Interview with Kristen Pham

pic

It’s author Kristen Pham on the blog today. She is the author of The Conjurors Series. You can visit her at her website Http://kristenpham.com/

Do tell us about yourself. Where are you from?

I live in the United States. I was born in Florida, but have lived in California for almost 15 years.
Tell us about ‘The Conjurors series’ and its main characters.

The Conjurors Series is a young adult fantasy story about Valerie Diaz, who is slowly dying because her magical potential is killing her on Earth, where there are rules stifling magic. But a visit from the imaginary friend of her childhood, Cyrus, opens a world of possibilities, including a new life half a universe away on a planet that is bursting with magic. In order to survive, Valerie must travel many light years away to a world where anything is possible. On the Globe, imaginary friends come to life, the last of the unicorns rules the realm, and magic seeps from the pores of all the Conjurors who live there.

Can you share your journey as a writer since you first took up the pen?

I’ve been a writer since childhood, but it was mostly a hobby. I was a journalism major in college, and while I loved writing the stories, my passion has always been for writing fiction. A few years ago I decided to self publish some of my stories to share with friends and family, and was thrilled to discover that others liked reading my work as well.

What are your thoughts on indie publishing?

I’m a huge fan of indie publishing, both as a writer and a reader. I find the indie writing community to be very supportive. I’ve received a lot of kind comments from fans, as well as helpful feedback that makes my writing better. The tough part is that it’s hard to earn enough money to quit my day job. As a result, I juggle work, writing, and family.

What are the pros and cons of writing fantasy?

The pros are easy. I love living in a made-up world inside my head where I create the rules. As plot unspools in my mind it’s like watching a movie. The cons are that it’s hard to create a world with consistent rules, and to remember how magic functions and all the nuances of it.

How did you prepare your first book for publication?

At first I tried to do everything myself when I published the first book of The Conjurors Series. I learned the hard way that I needed a professional cover artist and someone with good proofreading skills to make sure that my stories don’t have too many errors in them. After a story is written, rewritten, edited, proofread, etc., the hardest part of all comes in. You have to let readers know your material exists. I find that I give away lots and lots of books, with no regrets. As a writer, I just want people to enjoy my stories. Also, it helps me build a list of fans who enjoy my writing style, and maybe in the future they’ll have the means to pay for my work.

With what marketing strategy have you found the best results?

In terms of advertising, it’s hard to beat an ad with BookBub. But it’s expensive, and they only accept 1 out of every 5 submissions. I have loved being a part of the Wattpad community, where I’ve found hundreds of fans. When I started out, it also helped to sell exclusively through Amazon, and to take advantage of “free” days, where I would give away the first book in the series to help sell the rest of the books.

What are your favorite books? Movies?

I’m a huge fan of Terry Goodkind’s Sword of Truth fantasy series. I also love Harry Potter, A Wrinkle in Time, and The Giver. In terms of movies, I have always loved Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.

Any plan to write in other genres?

My next series is dystopian, which means that it is science fiction, set in the future. I think I’ll always write science fiction or fantasy for young adults, because it is my passion.

What are you releasing next?

I’ll be releasing the first two books in a new trilogy, Joan the Made, in early 2017.

Anything you would like to add?

Thanks for your interest and support! I’m happy to share free copies of the first couple books in The Conjurors Series with anyone who is interested. Shoot me an email through my website, www.kristenpham.com, if you’re interested.


A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India writing mostly in the fantasy genre. His historical low fantasy short “A Song of Blood” releases shortly. Click here to download his fantasy novella “The Drabird” for free.

pic

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

