Interview with Rhonda Davies Mornix

pic

It’s author R. J. Davies Mornix on my blog today. She is the author of The Maddox Files. You can find her at her website http://rjdaviesmornix.ca/

1) Tell us about yourself a bit. Where do you live? Your early life?

Well I am a mom and wife I live in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario Canada. It was where I was born and raised. I had lived in Toronto for a few years, it’s where I met my husband Dave. I have two boys one is going on 19, the other is going on 12.

My early life … I loved books and writing and declared at the age of 8 years old that I wanted to be an author. I have always loved adventure and science fiction from a young age.

2) Tell us about the Maddox files.

This book is about Dice Maddox, a 26 year old woman who lives in Toronto, Ontario Canada. She got into the Private Investigation field from high school, she met a man who ended up becoming her partner and uncle. He died in a car accident when she was 22. She got out of the business because her aunt and boyfriend didn’t think it was a good idea for her to do this alone. At 26 she decides to go back to doing the job she loves, there is doubt, struggles, she finds out her fiancé was cheating on her and dumps him.


3) Can you describe your favorite character in your book in ten words?

Dice Maddox, there’s more to her than meets the eye.

4) How did you prepare your book for publication?

My first book I went with Balboa Press. I had never self-published and it was great to have them walk me through the steps. Now that have I published a book, my second book I am completely doing this one on my own, maybe Create Space or whatever is out there.

5) Anybody who has helped you a lot in your writing endeavors?

My husband did direct me to a Stephen King quote, which got me to finish my very first book called Quin’s Quest. It’s science fiction; I had fallen into the trap of writing/editing/­rewriting when I heard that the first draft is suppose to be crap it’s you telling yourself the story that made a big difference for me. After working on Quin’s Quest for twenty years I scraped it and started fresh. I finished the first draft in 23 days. I may be self-publishing this one … no set date.

I spoke to another author Cynthia Clement who is a friend as well and she was the one to encourage me to self publish. I wasn’t ready to self publish Quin’s Quest but I came up with a whole new series that I could use to test out the self publishing industry and that is how Maddox Files Series was born.

My husband and mother have always been my biggest cheerleaders. It’s fitting since my husband is Dave Mornix of DAM Insights he’s a Motivational Speaker. He told me I had to get myself out there.

My mother, Diane Davies and dear friend Jane Omollo were the ones who did the editing. There were no errors in it, but after it was published I noticed there were a couple, and realized I had sent the wrong file. It was a minor mistake and I have chalked it up to a learning lesson. Beside now my second book will have a little pressure to omit any errors and to present itself in a cleaner fashion to the world.

My dear friend Penni-lynn Cobb of Penny C Designs was the one who designed my book cover for me after reading the book. I told her that she had to do the rest of my covers for me I don’t want anyone else. She is just so talented and I love her art work everything is original no stock pics for Maddox Files Series.


6) How do you promote your books?

Word of mouth, online, handing out business cards, flyers, at events, and I am always open to suggestions.

7) Which are your favorite books?
My list is long.
Stephen King, Ray Bradbury, Isaac Asimov, Douglas Adams, John Wyndham, Ursula K Le Guin, Anne McCaffrey, Robert A. Heinlein, Stanislaw Lem, Margaret Atwood, J. K. Rowling, William Shakespeare, Sydney Newman, Mark Morris, Russell T. Davies, there are still a few more these are just the main ones.

8) Any big author whose writing style and yours are a bit similar?

I’m not sure about that. When you read it and can think of someone please let me know. That’s a great question.


9) How is your daily/weekly writing schedule?

I squeeze in my writing in between work, family, self-promotion. I wish I could schedule writing from 9am – 5pm and just write that would make my day!

10) What are you releasing next?

Book Two “Maddox Files: Blurred Lines” will be out mid-late October 2016. (I have the first eight for this series scheduled two per year for the next for years)
2017 – Book 3 “Maddox Files: Down the Rabbit Hole” and Book 4 “Maddox Files: The Watchers”
2018 – Book 5 “Maddox Files: The Light Snuffer” … Book 6 “Not titled yet”
2019 – Book 7 “not titled yet” and book 8 “not titled yet”
Books 6-8 are outlined. … I’m working on book 5’s first draft.

11) Anything you would like to add?

Absolutely, Please sign up for my email list you’ll have access to my Feature Fiction free as well as entered for any giveaways and my newsletters. 


A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India writing mostly in the fantasy genre. His historical low fantasy short “A Song of Blood” releases shortly. Click here to download his fantasy novella “The Drabird” for free.

pic

About A J Chaudhury

A. J. Chaudhury is a young author from India of fantasy and historical fiction. His short story "A Song of Blood", set in historical Pragjotisha, has released recently, and more tales are following soon.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

